Marshall Scholarship

Deadline: October 1

Students interested in applying for this award need to contact Mary Swanson, CSU's Nationally Competitive Scholarship Advisor to receive a campus nomination. Students are encouraged to contact Mary at least six months before the national deadline.

Marshall Scholarships provide funding for graduate study in the United Kingdom. Established to promote a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions.


  • GPA of 3.7 or better
  • Graduating senior or recently graduated
  • Open to all majors


The traditional Marshall Scholarship is tenable for two academic years (ie 22 months), but may be extended by the Commission, though not beyond the end of a third academic year. Third-year extensions are granted by the Commission on a limited basis, for strong academic reasons, subject to the availability of funds.

In addition, a limited number of One Year Marshall Scholarships are available. These Scholarships are tenable for one academic year (ie 12 months) and cannot be extended.

Amount of Support

University fees, cost of living expenses, annual book grant, thesis grant, research and daily travel grants, fares to and from the United States and, where applicable, a contribution towards the support of a dependent spouse.

Application Process

Note: This scholarship requires four letters of recommendation and candidates must be nominated by the University. This may involve a competitive process to narrow the pool of candidates.

For more information, please see the Marshall Scholarship Applications.